Skip to Page Content

Public Servant Award

    Rhode Island SHRM State Chapter

    New Website

    RISHRM is in the process of migrating to a new and improved website. For more information please click here.

    Call for Nominations!


    Accepting nominations for our Annual Outstanding Public Servant Award 2019


    Objective:   This award, sponsored by RI SHRM, recognizes the outstanding contributions of a Public Servant who has promoted, sponsored, or initiated legislation that has demonstrated awareness of the value of involvement of human resource professionals in the legislative process and has affected positive changes in workplace legislation.

    Who is eligible:  Public Servants


    • Sponsored a bill or legislative initiative that promotes a positive work-place initiative.
    • Recognizes that the Human Resources Professional is a valuable resource to addressing concerns within the workplace.
    • Recognizes the value of input from Human Resource Professional constituents.


    Past Public Servants honored by RI SHRM: 

    2002  -  Rep. Beatrice Lanzi

    2003  -  Rep. Thomas Winfield

    2004  -  Lt. Gov. Charles Fogarty

    2005  -  Secretary of State Matt Brown

    2006  -  Gov. Donald Carcieri

    2007  -  Lt. Gov. Elizabeth Roberts

    2008  -  RI Health Insurance Commissioner, Christopher Koller

    2009  -  Senate President Teresa Paiva Weed

    2011  -  Representative Deborah Ruggiero and Doctor David Gifford

    2012  -  General Treasurer Gina Raimondo

    2013  -  Representative Patricia Serpa

    2015  -  Helen G. Gage. Chief Labor Standards, RI Department of Labor and Training

    2016  -  Representative K. Joseph Shekarchi

    2017  -  Director Scott R. Jensen, Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training

    2018  -  Representative Nicholas A. Mattiello, House Speaker


    Nomination Process: RI SHRM Chapter and at-large members may forward the Nomination form to the Co-Directors of Legislative Affairs:

    Nominations must be received by February 1, 2019. The Legislative Affairs Committee will review all nominations and recommend a finalist to the Co-Directors of Legislative Affairs, the State Chapter Director, and President of Chapter Operations for approval. The winner will be announced at the RI SHRM's Legislative & Employment Law Conference.